Foster COMMUNITY CONNECTIONS

Check out our past Community Conversations events. Recordings are available for select events.

Review the information below about past events or check out our UPCOMING EVENTS including recordings of Community Connections.

PAST EVENTS:

image004 (1).png

October 27, 2020

10 AM PDT // 1 PM EDT

Meet the authors who have recently published books sharing their story about their time in foster care through a children's book, a handbook, and autobiography. They will share an overview of their book, their inspiration to write it, and how they become published authors. 

Panelists: Ángela Quijada-BanksDr. Deshunna Monay Ricks, Justin Black, & Alexis Black

Recording Available!

October 21, 2020

11 AM PDT // 2 PM EDT

Foster Youth to Young Professional

The Foster Scholars met with the Jim Casey Youth Opportunities Initiative Young Fellows to discuss the transition from foster youth to young professional and strategies for navigating the transition.

Private event for the Jim Casey Youth Opportunities Initiative Advanced Youth Leadership Institute.

FS Thank You Cards (3).png

September 15, 2020

10 AM PDT // 1 PM EDT

From Foster Care to Foster Scholar

Discuss the experience of applying, navigating, and managing the imposter syndrome in graduate school.

Panelists: Demontea Thompson, Jamie Bennett, Melinda Smith,  and Mich Hamlin

Recording Available!

Live Conversation with The Foster Scholars. Meet the Foster Scholars and learn about their scholarship and purpose for the Foster Scholars community.

JUNE 30, 2020

10AM PST // 1PM EST

Meet the Foster Scholars

Meet the Foster Scholars and learn about their scholarship and purpose for the Foster Scholars community.

Panelists: Jamie Bennett, Angela Hoffman, Kizzy Lopez, Molly Sarubbi, and Sara Gamez

Recording available!

JUNE 19, 2020

1 PM PST // 4 PM EST

Black Foster Youth Lives Matter

Join Dr. Lopez and guest, Dr. Ricks, as they facilitate a sacred space for discussion and healing for Black individuals with lived experience from foster care.

Black Foster Youth LIves Matter. June 19, 2020 1:00 PM (PST) Sacred Space for Discussion annd Healing. Join us as we hold space for one another, seeking healing in community with other Black individuals with lived experience from foster care.

JUNE 9, 2020

5PM PST // 8 PM EST

Black Foster Youth Lives Matter

Join Dr. Lopez and guest, Dr. Ricks, as they facilitate a sacred space for healing for Black individuals with lived experience from foster care.

Sacred space in community. Black foster youth lives matter. Join us as we hold for one another, seeking healing in community with other Black individuals with lived experiences from foster care. June 9, 2020 5:00 (PST).